Member Institutions

New Jersey Sea Grant Consortium Member Institutions are colleges, universities and other groups with expertise in marine, coastal and/or estuarine science and an interest in New Jersey’s marine, coastal and/or estuarine affairs. Collectively the group works to advance knowledge and wise-utilization of New Jersey’s marine and coastal resources and impact marine and coastal policy throughout the region.  The Consortium also coordinates cooperative research, education and extension projects among its members.

How to Become a Member Institution

Membership is open to all New Jersey’s public and private degree-granting institutions of higher learning with programs in marine, coastal, or estuarine science research, education, policy, and/or outreach. Corporate, industrial, governmental (state and federal) and other organizations (such as out-of-state or non-degree granting academic institutions) with missions involving the advancement of knowledge and understanding of marine, coastal and/or and estuarine science and/or policy are also eligible.  Each Member Institution is entitled to member benefits and the appointment of a representative for communication between the institution and the NJSGC.

Please contact Executive Director Claire Antonucci or Corporate Secretary Debbie Meehan-Quinn for further information or to become a member.

Annual Dues

New Jersey’s state and private colleges, universities, two-year county colleges and other educational institutions: $1500

New Jersey’s research universities: $2500

Out-of-state institutions and corporate members: $3500

Member Benefits

Member Institutions are entitled to the following benefits:

  1. Shared curricula of college-level marine science courses.  Each summer, courses are offered for students enrolled at participating member institutions. For more information about these courses email Rosemary Higgins or call 732-872-1300×19.
  2. Use of field and lab equipment.
  3. Use of conference room facilities at NJSGC’s Sandy Hook headquarters. For more information or to reserve the conference room email Debbie Meehan or call 732-872-1300, ext. 25.
  4. A $350 credit towards any NJSGC field trip program. To reserve a program as part of a college-level course or any other  program affiliated with a member institution including K-12 initiatives email Rosemary Higgins or call 732-872-1300, ext 19.

Member InstitutionsBrookdale Community College
Burlington County College
College of New Jersey, The
County College of Morris
Fairleigh Dickinson University
Georgian Court University
Kean University
Monmouth University
Montclair State University
New Jersey City University
New Jersey Institute of Technology
Ocean County College
Princeton University
Ramapo College
Richard Stockton College of NJ
Rider University
Rowan University
Rutgers University
Seton Hall University
Stevens Institute of Technology
Union County College
William Paterson UniversityAssociate Members

Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel
Marine Academy of Science & Technology
Member RepresentativesMs. Jayne Edman
Mr. David Hespe
Dr. Dennis Shevlin
Professor Samantha Fuentes
Dr. Marion McClary Jr.
Dr. Louise S. Wootton
Dr. Brian Teasdale
Mr. Tony MacDonald
Dr. Robert Prezant
Dr. William W. Montgomery
Dr. Nancy L Jackson
Dr. Stan Hales
Dr. Peter Jaffe
Dr. Angela Cristini
Dr. Peter F. Straub
Dr. Gabriela Smalley
Dr. Courtney Richmond
Ms. Diane Carlino
Dr. Carolyn S. Bentivegna
Dr. Alan F. Blumberg
Dr. Igor Oksov
Dr. Michael Peek 

Dr. Richard J Horwitz
Mr. Earl Moore

609-894-9311 x1501
856-256-4500 x3555
732-932-6555 x563